Resource Type: 

The Gutenberg-e prizewinning books represent the most distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. These books have undergone a rigorous academic review process by distinguished historians brought together by the American Historical Association and produced through a close collaboration between the authors and the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press.

There are 35 books representing a range of subjects:

1999 award winners topic: Africa, colonial Latin America, and South Asia
2000 award winners topic: Europe before 1800
2001 award winners topic: Military history and history of foreign relations
2002: History of North America before 1900
2003: Women's History or History of Gender

    While these digital monographs can be printed out and read in the traditional way, the electronic versions offer elements that cannot be conveyed in print: extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, and links to related websites.

    The Gutenberg-e prize is a collaborative effort between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association, committed to exploring and promoting the electronic publication of scholarly writing. The Andrew W. Mellon foundation provides financial support for the project.


    Includes links to videos, graphics, sound files.

    Recent books
    Update Frequency: 
    A few new books are added each year.