Trent University Library & Archives continues to offer electronic collections and virtual services. As part of the University’s limited and reduced campus presence, Bata Library and the Durham GTA Campus Library & Learning Centre are closed and physical collections are unavailable. Virtual services and support are available by contacting Check for updates regularly on our COVID-19 Alert Page.

Curbside Pickup for Faculty & Graduate Students is available starting June 23rd.

Finding Aid:

Search the Archives

Fonds Level Description

Accession Number: 77-029


Canada. Peterborough County Census. -- Microfilmed 15 Dec. 1975. -- 4 microfilm reels.

Biography / History

The land which is now Peterborough County was originally part of Newcastle District before 1841, and the Colbourne District until 1850, the year when districts were replaced by counties in Upper Canada. At this time the United Counties of Peterborough and Victoria was created. In 1861, Victoria County was given independence from Peterborough. Peterborough County is made up of the following townships: Galway, Cavendish, Anstruther, Chandos, Harvey, Burleigh, Methuen, Ennismore, Smith, Douro, Dummer, Belmont, North Monaghan, Otonabee, and Asphodel. (taken from "Illustrated Historical Atlas of Peterborough County 1825-1875." Peterborough: The Peterborough Historical Atlas Foundation Inc., 1975.)

Custodial History

The microfilm copies of the census records were purchased from the National Archives of Canada.

Scope and Content

The microfilms are copies of the decennial nominal census for Peterborough County from 1871. The microfilm also includes census records for parts of Northumberland East, Prince Edward and Hastings Counties. Genealogical resource.


Title based on the contents of the records.

The microfilm was purchased from the National Archives of Canada.

The original records are located at the National Archives of Canada.

Restrictions: N

Finding aids: Y

For related records see: 77-028, 83-007, 86-026, and 93-024.

Microfilm. Set 20.


1871 Census

Reel 1 (P.A.C. film #C-0086):

55. Northumberland East County

Percy Township

Seymour Township

56. Peterborough West County

Monaghan South Township

Monaghan North Township

Peterborough town

Smith Township

Reel 2 (P.A.C. film #C-9987):

56. Peterborough West County

Smith Township

Ennismore Township

57. Peterborough East County

Otonabee Township

Ashburnham Village

Douro Township

Reel 3 (P.A.C. film #C-9988):

57. Peterborough East County

Douro Township

Asphodel Township

Dummer Township

Belmont Township

Methuen Township

58. Peterborough North County

Harvey Township

Galway Township

Cavendish Township

Chandos Township

Anstruther Township

Cardiff Township

Burleigh Township

Monmouth Township

Snowden Township

Glamorgan Township

Minden Township

Stanhope Township

Sherborne Township

Reel 4 (P.A.C. film #C-9989):

58. Peterborough North County

Guilford Township

Harcourt Township

Harburn Township

Dysart Township

Dudley Township

Bruton Township

59. Prince Edward County

Hillier Township

Wellington Village


Hallowel Township

Picton town